Meaningful Mothers Day

Now that I am a mother the term “Mother” has a lot more meaning for me.  I guess I remember thinking when I was pregnant with my first baby that “from this point forward I will always be known as a mother, for the rest of my life I will always and forever be a mother“. I’m sure there will be times, (and perhaps there already has been some), when I’ll wish I wasn’t a mother… but now it is something that defines a huge part of who I am.

Part of my motherhood journey includes the fact that I actually could have died during childbirth.  Three times I had a Post Partum hemorrhage (PPH).  I distinctly remember the first time I hemorrhaged, (not a huge one but enough they considered a transfusion), and actually feeling the life kind of drain out of me and thinking “wow, I totally know why women die in childbirth now”.  But thanks to a hospital, that I am grateful for, I am still here today.

Of course that experience impacted me and so when we as YWAM began looking at taking a medical ship to PNG and discovering the appalling health statistics there – especially in terms of Maternal and Infant Mortality my heart was stirred.  So much so that I decided to become a Doula – (you can read about that under the Doula tab above).

But I’m not the only one who wants to do something to help our fellow mothers.   My good friend, a mother and YWAM colleague, Adriel, has started an initiative called Bloggers for birth kits.   Birth kits are a really basic resource for mothers or birth workers in PNG a kit costs around $2 – $3 and can be easily made.  The concept is simple – to have a clean space for the mother to give birth (a piece of plastic), some soap for hand washing, some gloves for the birth attendant (HIV is quite prevalent there), some string for the cord and a sterile blade.

Each of these kits are given with education. They are  a tool used to increase childbirth education in this nation.  My heart is that in the process of education we will empower women in PNG to be actively involved in designing their own safe birth practices – designing their own safe and clean birth space (instead of a plastic sheet they could make a woven birth mat out of locally sourced, familiar materials),  they would have support and assistance during their labours and births, and education on things like health and nutrition – that can significantly reduce pregnancy and birth complications (like some instances or severity of PPH).

So as you are thinking of this Mothers Day, think about the difference you could make to another mother, go to Adriels page and see what you can do!!

http://themommyhoodmemos.com/2012/04/bloggers-for-birth-kits-helping-moms-in-developing-nations/

xx Mel
2 thoughts on “Meaningful Mothers Day

  1. Love this Mel!! I’m soooooo glad you had your babies in Australia and have lived to tell about it. We are so blessed, indeed!

    Thanks for helping to spread the word. As of tonight we’re up to 1143 kits, and there’s many more being made that I don’t have numbers for yet. Amazing!!

    Happy early mothers day to you, friend. x

Leave a Reply

